That’s a Negative

Oh my goodness, I feel like my heart could explode right out of my chest right now.

A few months ago, a dear, sweet Haitian friend asked me to pray for her because she had been diagnosed with ovarian cancer. The diagnosis was a huge shock, and the thought of this beautiful young mother of three having to deal with the disease just tore me up inside. As I prayed aloud with and for her, I prayed for the will of God to be done, but inside, my prayer was “Please, God, not her. Not anyone, but especially not her!”

A few weeks ago, I saw her on the campus and asked about her health. Though the diagnosis weighed heavily on her, she continued to put her faith in God. At that same time, I told her about a cancer center in Port-au-Prince that would treat patients for free. I had only recently learned of the Center’s existence; it was when I was trying to find help for another woman in town who was dying of breast cancer (There is Mercy).

A few minutes ago, I saw this beautiful friend. She told me about all the people who were praying for her; people who prayed from 6am to 6pm. She told me about a dream she had on May 20th where many of her friends came to her house to pray for her. She told me that after that dream, she felt like she could eat again because she sensed a change in her body, a body that has been giving her problems since last year. She told me that she visited the cancer center in Port on May 28; the one that I told her about. She went with her piece of paper from another medical center that said “Cancer – positive.”

The only thing is, after they examined her extensively, she got a new piece of paper; a piece of paper that said “Cancer – NEGATIVE.”

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!! I am bursting with joy on behalf of this friend!!!!

I know that there are many of you who do not believe in the healing power of prayer, but this testimony was pretty darn powerful. There are people who will explain it away as a false positive the first time through, but that combined with the physical difficulties she had over the past year make that argument weak. What a coincidence it was that I had only recently learned about a hospital that had specialized care for those who have cancer. It overwhelms me.

With all the poop that is going on in the world, it was so very wonderful to be the recipient of such GOOD news. I told her how very much her testimony encouraged me to keep the faith, especially in difficult times.

I realize that not everyone’s story turns out the same way. We’ve seen a lot of death here, and I lost my mother and my brother to the ugly C. For today, however, my heart is full, full, full of joy and happiness for my friend. I hope that her good news also gives you reason to smile this evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to That’s a Negative

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing this, Bim. There is no such thing as a coincidence. It is truly the hand of God. I not only believe in the power of prayer, I believe in miracles (I watched an open and bleeding cut on my hand close up right before my eyes–in a matter of seconds). He surely heard the prayers for this woman and used your input to confirm her state of health. This is just glorious!

  2. Sharon St. Clair says:

    Thank you for sharing friend. It has indeed put a smile on my face!

  3. Tracy Hutchinson says:

    Thank you so much for sharing!!! How encouraging.

  4. Jean seibert says:

    Oh Bim, I believe! I believe in the power of prayer and of God’s miraculous healing! I love that she had friends that prayed with and for her from 6am to 6 pm. We need to be more like those friends who fervently interceded! Thank you for sharing, I am rejoicing and praising God with you!

  5. Diana Thomas says:

    This is a woman whose life testimony shows without a doubt that she believes 100% in the faithfulness of God… she has see it in person all her life… what a privilege to hear this news and to know that she has one more instance in her stash of amazing treasures He has given. Oh that I would have her faith to build my own stash in this way…. Praising God for His work and for such a woman who believes. thank you for sharing this, MORE than made my day.

  6. Judy Jane says:

    Thank you for sharing! I have no doubt that God can heal…I have experienced this as well in myself and in experiences with my children. I write about these in a book that I just had published to encourage mommas of toddlers through adulthood. http://www.facebook.com/heymombook

  7. Virginia Aughinbaugh says:

    God is good and there is no limit to His power. Praise Him from whom all blessings flow!!

  8. Beth Slippey says:

    SMILING & PRAISING GOD!!!

  9. Cathy Smyth says:

    What a glorious testimony to God’s healing power! Thank you for sharing her miraculous story.

  10. goodsnowyowl says:

    Wow! Praise God! This is very encouraging to me 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

