Reunited

It’s official. I need therapy.

As I was working at my computer the other day, I could not escape the sound of a crying chick. The thing is, crying chicks are nothing out of the ordinary here. After all, it’s common knowledge in the Borel chicken community that if you show up at Madame Tim’s house, you will get fed. New moms show up with their brood on a pretty regular basis.

The thing is, this little chick showed up (seemingly) out of nowhere. It wasn’t with a mama or siblings, nor had I seen any new mamas with babies about the same size. And it wasn’t sickly, so it hadn’t been abandoned by its family. There’s normal chicken behavior and patterns and this little guy/gal wasn’t following the norm.

The crying was incessant; I couldn’t concentrate on my work because of it. This little chick was too young to be on its own! I even went for a walk around the compound to confirm what I already suspected to be true… the family wasn’t here. But where was it?

And then I remembered that a few days earlier, I’d seen a new hen show up for food. I had chastised her for coming because I could hear babies crying on the other side of a wall. What kind of mom leaves her babies for a few grains of rice? (One who is trying to feed her babies; that’s who.)

I hopped up on a concrete partition to peak over the wall, and sure enough, the same mama hen was there, laying in some grass close to the wall. When she saw me, she got up and two little chicks appeared from under her belly. Lo and behold, they were the size of the little one running around outside of our house. Mystery solved.

I followed the chick around the yard trying to catch it, and we circled the house more the once, all to no avail. Anyone watching me would have thought I was nuts. The only thing I succeeded at was making all of the other moms and babies very nervous. After some serious persuasion (and a bit of pleading), Tim came outside to help me. When one of the Haitian boys showed up for water, we enlisted his help. And then Charity stopped by to see what was going on, so we put her to work too.

Finally, little chick got tired enough that I was able to scoop it up. I reached into a hole in the wall where some PVC pipe comes through and deposited baby on the other side. Tim tossed some rice to the ground to draw Mom closer to the cries – it worked like a charm. Mom, baby, and sibs found each other.

The experience was kind of a silly way to spend the morning, but I found that as I went throughout the day, there was little that brought me down because I was just so happy for this chicken family! Crazy, right???? I KNOW.

A short while ago, as I was breaking up pieces of bread for the usual crew, new mom stood atop the wall – able to see babies to her left and me to her right. I tossed a piece of bread her way, and she flew out of sight with it in her beak. Once again, I hopped on top of the concrete partition to peer over the wall; she was dutifully tending to all three chicks.

I have no idea why it was so important for me to see this family reunited or why it brings me so much joy to see them together. They are CHICKENS.

In my attempt to make this story relevant, I’m reminded of Matthew 6:25-27:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

God uses different circumstances and people to help us deal with trials in our life. That day, he used me to help reunite a family of chickens. If He cares that much for them, how much more does He care about you?

Keep the faith, friends. Just as God used me that day, stay obedient to how He wants to use you, even when it seems crazy.

Keep the faith, friends. Just as Mama Hen waited on the other side of the wall because she knew her baby was close, God waits for us. He hears our cries and stays close.

img_3409

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reunited

  1. Diana Thomas says:

    I love it…love it… love you, zanmi kimoun renmen poul! (probably incorrect but hope you get it)

  2. Brenda Arthun says:

    George and I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely and fun story. Great Post!

  3. Lynn Bertram says:

    Keep writing, Bim…it’s one of your many gifts to us all.

  4. Cathy Smyth says:

    Your story was a wonderful way to start the week! Thy will be done, in all things great and small.

Leave a Reply

